Date	22 February 2024
Item	
Title	CRL Board - Extensions of Terms of Office
Author	Richard Hood, Director of Governance, Policy and Legal
Purpose	For the Board to consider extending the terms of office of current Board Members.
Recommendation	To endorse the extension of the terms of office of the three existing Board Members listed below for a second term.
Timing	N/A
Impact	N/A
assessment	
Impact on Regulatory	N/A. Maintaining good governance.
Objectives	
Implications for resources	None
Impact on	N/A
consumer	
empowerment	N1/A
Impact on	N/A
ongoing	
competence	
Publication	For Publication
status	
Appendices	None

CRL Board - Extensions of Terms of Office

- 1. Issue
- 1.1 Three Board members, including the Chair, are approaching the end of their first terms of office. All three have expressed a willingness to continue.
- 1.2 The Board Term of Office diagram is attached showing an overview of the situation **Appendix 1**
- 2. Rule
- 2.1 Standing Order 54 provides
 - d) Term of Office Board members will be appointed for a term of no more than three years. Subject to the outcome of performance appraisals and agreement of the Chair (or the longest-serving Lay Member if it relates to the Chair) Board members can serve a maximum of two terms (i.e. a maximum six years in total). Renewals require Board endorsement. In exceptional circumstances, the Board may extend the term of office of a Board member for up to a maximum of a year

(immediately following expiry of the six-year period) with the agreement of that Board member.

- 3. Application of Rule
- 3.1 In accordance with SO 54 d), performance appraisals have been undertaken by the Chair. The Chair's own appraisal was undertaken by Alice Belcher and the outcomes were all positive. The Chair and Alice (specifically in relation to the Chair) agree that the terms of office be extended for a second term.
- 3.2 This decision requires endorsement by the Board.

RECOMMENDATION:

To endorse the extension of the terms of office of these existing Board Members for a second term of three years, as follows:

- Helen Astle (extended until 31 August 2027)
- Douglas Blackstock (extended until 31 August 2027)
- Jonathan Rees (extended until 31 August 2027)

Attachment: Appendix 1 - Board Term of Office diagram